In 2021, the BWTB Advisory Board created the Pedestrian of the Year Award. This award honors a local citizen exhibiting leadership and inclusion, whether advocating for safety, education, changes in infrastructure or designing programs that support pedestrians.

Photo of Lashonda Copeland
LaShanda Copeland speaks at groundbreaking of Uptown Sky.

The inaugural winner of the award was Lashanda Copeland. LaShanda leads the Walking School Bus program for Mort Elementary, where she educates children about safety and the best routes to and from school. She has been an integral part of improving street lighting in her community, helping everyone who walks in the dark, especially children walking during daylight saving time.