Vanessa Wheeler

September 17, 2019

Skyway Marina District being transformed through Complete Streets process

If you’ve traveled down 34th Avenue South in St. Petersburg, you might recall seeing a lightly-trafficked six-lane wide highway lined by buildings and parking lots with adjoining stores in the distance. The Skyway Marina District, which spans an area of 34th St. S., also known as U.S. 19, between 22nd Ave. S. and 54th St. […]
July 17, 2019

Tampa Bay Bicycle Friendly Businesses go the extra distance to help those in need

Being named a Bicycle Friendly BusinessSM (BFB) by the League of American Bicyclists is a notable accomplishment. At the recent Summer Summit, BWTB honored six local BFBs that are also going above and beyond being bicycle friendly by making bicycling available and safer for the socio-economically disadvantaged. Please give thanks to the following organizations who […]
July 17, 2019

Farewell & good luck to BWTB founding chair, Mayor Castor

With heartfelt gratitude and congratulations, Bike/Walk Tampa Bay (BWTB) says goodbye to our founding leader, Jane Castor, who has recently been elected Mayor for the City of Tampa. Prior to winning the election, Jane served for four years as the founding chair of the BWTB Advisory Board of Directors, helping the organization and its leaders […]
July 17, 2019

Michael R. Schwaid Bicyclist of the Year: David Guttenplan

Tampa Bay is filled with bicycling champions who excel in both their sport and their advocacy, but none quite compare to David Guttenplan. While working as a professional bicycle racer running his own racing team and coaching business, David earned both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in civil engineering, with honors, from the University of Florida. […]
July 17, 2019

Summer Summit highlights

More than 150 participants gathered at the 2019 Bike/Walk Tampa Bay (BWTB) Summer Summit on Friday, June 21, 2019. The intensive half-day Summit, titled “On the Road to Safety,” featured community representatives from around the region and the state, including keynote speaker Florida Department of Transportation District 7 Secretary David Gwynn and Commissioner Mariella Smith […]